Highlights from the Library's Collection
All Items by Source

Community Resources

Brockhaus Encyclopedia Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The digital BROCKHAUS offers access to art and culture, spelling, synonyms, children’s and youth lexica and much more.
note: German Language Resource
VÖBB Resource: Requires valid Öffentlichen Bibliotheken Berlins library card (Access Instructions)
Statista Restricted Resource
Statista gives users direct access to verifiable and relevant statistics on markets, consumers and social issues: over a million statistics, studies and reports from more than 18,000 sources.
note: German Language Resource
VÖBB Resource: Requires valid Öffentlichen Bibliotheken Berlins library card (Access Instructions)

Journals/Magazines

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The Economist Magazine Restricted Resource
The Economist is an English-language news and international affairs publication. Print copies are available in the BCS Library and online access is available.
note: Click here for login credentials, then click 'Log in' on the Economist website.


 

Online Resources

German History in Documents & Images (GHDI)
German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present. The project comprises ten sections, each of which addresses a discrete period in Germany's history.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature using Google's familiar interface. You can find articles, books, and content from academic publishers, professional societies, some academic web sites, and more. For more information see: Strengths and Weaknesses of Google Scholar.
note: Google Scholar is primarily an index. For full-text versions of the books and articles returned by Google Scholar, you will need to take advantage of the university libraries listed to the right under 'Accessing Community Resources'.
Infographic Templates
Here the SSt department has compiled a selection of PowerPoint templates for creating inforgraphics. BCS login required.
NoodleTools Restricted Resource
It is a 'one stop shop' to help students formulate research questions, collection research, take notes and create citations.
Turnitin
Turnitin offers an entire suite of tools to help students improve their writing; one of which detects plagiarism.
note: Ask your teacher for access to Turnitin.

Atlases

Library of Congress Country Studies
"The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world."
BBC Country Profiles Resource contains images
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Historical Maps of Berlin (ZLB)
You can find maps and plans of Berlin here. Many of them are in the public domain and free for re-use.
True Size of... Atlas
Online tool that allows users to compare the size of countires and US states.

Databases

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Provides access to thousands of high-quality encyclopedia articles in addition to images, video and audio collections. Some full-text magazine/journal articles from EBSCO are also available.
note: Click here for login credentials
Churchill Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
'It includes more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S. Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. This is more than a fantastic collection of primary source material; it is a unique online resource offering new insight into a fascinating period of our past.’
note: Click here for login credentials
Questia School Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes 83,000 full-text digital books and 8 million magazine/journal articles in Art and Architecture, Business and Management, Communication and Language, Economics, Environment, Government and Politics, History, Literature, Music and Performing Arts, Psychology, Religious Studies, Sociology and Anthropology.
note: Click here for login credentials

Statistics/Data

Berlin in figures (ZLB)
Statistical reports of Berlin since 2007.
Berlin Statistics (ZLB)
Official statistics of Berlin since 1852.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Accessing Community Resources
Berlin Public Libraries (VÖBB)
Students and faculty can obtain a library card free of charge by submitting an application form and the documents below to any public library branch in Berlin.
  • Proof of Residence in Germany (Anmeldebescheinigung)
  • Identity card or passport
  • Student Card (Schülerausweis)
  • Signature (on the form) of the parent or legal guardian (for children and adolescents under 18)
 
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
Residents of Germany have access to around 150 academic databases through the German Research Foundation (DFG). The aim is to enable scientists, students and scientifically interested individuals access to databases, digital text collections, electronic journals and e-books. These databases are made available through the universities below, but individuals can also register to access them from home. To register, users must select the databases they would like access to and create an account on the DFG's website. Upon registration the DFG will send the login credentials to the user's home address. Usually this takes a day or two.
 
Freie Universität
Users officially registered in Berlin or in Brandenburg can obtain user cards at no charge on presentation of identification (Personalausweis; or passport in combination with official proof of residence (Meldebescheinigung)). Adolescents (age 16 through 17) must submit a special form for requesting a user card; this form has to be signed by a parent or legal guardian. More information can be found on their website.
 
Humboldt Universität
Any resident of the Germany who is at least 16 years of age may register to use the libraries of Humboldt University free of charge. You must submit your ID card or your passport with official proof of residency (Anmeldungbescheinigung) at one of their service desks (for instance at the Grimm Zentrum near Friedrichstr. Bhf). In a few minutes, you will be issued with a user ID that is valid for one year. For more information see their FAQ section (German only). If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must provide your parents' consent along with your passport and proof of residency. Please print the following form and take it with you when you register: Parental Consent Form (PDF). When you register you will be able to borrow books and access hundreds of online databases from computers located in any of Humboldt University's libraries.
 
Technische Universität Berlin
Secondary students can register to use the libraries of the TU at the central library (Zentralbibliothek) for 5.00 EUR/year. Required documents include passport, proof of residency (Meldebescheinigung) and student card (Schülerausweis). In addition, students under 18 will need to submit a form signed by their legal guardian. Upon registration students can borrow books and take advantage of electronic resources. Click here for more information.
 
Universität der Künste Berlin
A Technische Universität Berlin library card (see above) is valid at the libraries of the UdK Berlin.