Highlights from the Library's Collection
All Items by Source

eBooks

EBSCO eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's eBook Collection contains full text books, such as reference works, scientific monographs, literature and fiction. This eBook Collection contains more than 3,460 titles that are freely accessible and a small number of purchased titles.
EBSCO Reference eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for high school students. Topics include biography, history, careers, language arts, literature, government, health, math, science, current events, and social-emotional health.

Academic Search Engines

arXiv (pronounced 'archive') Some full text available
Open access to 1,587,202 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Submissions to arXiv should conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is funded by Cornell University, the Simons Foundation and by the member institutions.
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) Some full text available
BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature using Google's familiar interface. You can find articles, books, and content from academic publishers, professional societies, some academic web sites, and more. For more information see: Strengths and Weaknesses of Google Scholar.

A Word of Warning

In addition to many credible sources of academic material Google Scholar also indexes the open web for anything that looks like a academic paper; that is, anything with a title at the top, a list of authors, bibliography etc.

Some fringe groups have taken advantage of this in order to lend credibility and legitimacy to their ideas.


note: Google Scholar is primarily an index. For full-text versions of the books and articles returned by Google Scholar, you will need to take advantage of the university libraries listed to the right under 'Accessing Community Resources'.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Includes 215,000+ peer-reviewed articles are free to access, reuse and redistribute. PLOS was founded as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to advance progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

Community Resources

Cambridge Core / Journals Restricted Resource
Cambridge University Press (CUP) publishes a wide range of renowned academic journals with a high degree of circulation.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Duden Schulwissen Resource contains images
"Here you will find the contents of important subjects (including German, mathematics, physics and English) visually processed and made understandable. For everyone from Grade 5 to Abitur."
note: German Language Resource
VÖBB Resource: Requires valid Öffentlichen Bibliotheken Berlins library card (Access Instructions)
Emerald eJournals Premier Collection Archive Restricted Resource
Emerald eJournals Premier Collection Archive lists full-text articles from over 400 specialist journals from the start of publication up to and including 2018. The offer is supplemented by case studies, interviews and reviews. The majority of the journals come from the field of economics, but library and engineering sciences are also represented.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Oxford Journals Collection Restricted Resource
The Oxford Journals Collection is part of Oxford University Press, the world's largest university publisher, and includes titles from the following sub-areas: Humanities, Science, Medicine, Law, Social Sciences.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Science Classic Archive 1880-1996 Restricted Resource
Science journal archive from 1880-1996. Next to "Nature", "Science" is the outstanding interdisciplinary publication organ of the STM area.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
World Biographical Information System / WBIS Restricted Resource
The World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS Online) comprises several million short biographies from numerous reference works that appeared from the 16th to the beginning of the 21st century. The biographical archives contained in each take into account different language and cultural areas.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)

Newspapers

The Day Restricted Resource
The Day is a current affairs website designed for Upper-Primary and Secondary Students.

Online Resources

Fold'n Fly
A database of paper airplanes with easy to follow folding instructions.
Hyperphysics
Excellent overview but not always well explained.
Khan Academy Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Our math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps.
LEIFI Physik
German language with choice of Berlin Curriculum
Materialien zum Selbstständigen Arbeiten
German resource with self-study material for physics.
NoodleTools Restricted Resource
It is a 'one stop shop' to help students formulate research questions, collection research, take notes and create citations.
PhET Simulations
PhET simulations from the Univeristy of Colorado at Boulder animate what is invisible to the eye through the use of graphics and intuitive controls such as click-and-drag manipulation, sliders and radio buttons.
Physics Classroom
The Physics Classroom is an online, free to use physics website developed primarily for beginning physics students and their teachers. The website features a variety of sections intended to support both teachers and students in the tasks of learning and teaching physics.
Pittys Physikseite
Auf den folgenden Seiten kann man aus 1133 Physikaufgaben zu den meisten Themen, die in der Schule behandelt werden, auswählen.
Roro
Explanations in excellent diagrams
School Physics
A valuable resource base for all 11 to 19 year old physics students and their teachers.

Databases

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Provides access to thousands of high-quality encyclopedia articles in addition to images, video and audio collections. Some full-text magazine/journal articles from EBSCO are also available.
note: Click here for login credentials
EBSCO - MAS Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 540 popular, high school magazines. MAS Complete also provides more than 440 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Podcasts

Radiolab Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"Radiolab is a show about curiosity. Where sound illuminates ideas, and the boundaries blur between science, philosophy, and human experience."
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files