Highlights from the Library's Collection
     
All Items by Source

eBooks

EBSCO eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's eBook Collection contains full text books, such as reference works, scientific monographs, literature and fiction. This eBook Collection contains more than 3,460 titles that are freely accessible and a small number of purchased titles.
EBSCO Reference eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for high school students. Topics include biography, history, careers, language arts, literature, government, health, math, science, current events, and social-emotional health.

Community Resources

Cambridge Core / Journals Restricted Resource
Cambridge University Press (CUP) publishes a wide range of renowned academic journals with a high degree of circulation.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Oxford Journals Collection Restricted Resource
The Oxford Journals Collection is part of Oxford University Press, the world's largest university publisher, and includes titles from the following sub-areas: Humanities, Science, Medicine, Law, Social Sciences.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource
There are over 850 electronic journals from Sage Publications that cover a wide range of subjects including: archeology, geosciences, history, media and communication studies, medicine, education, philosophy, political science, psychology, law, linguistics and literary studies, sociology, technology and computer science, theology and religious studies, and economics.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
World Biographical Information System / WBIS Restricted Resource
The World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS Online) comprises several million short biographies from numerous reference works that appeared from the 16th to the beginning of the 21st century. The biographical archives contained in each take into account different language and cultural areas.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)

Journals/Magazines

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Newspapers

The Day Restricted Resource
The Day is a current affairs website designed for Upper-Primary and Secondary Students.

Online Resources

NoodleTools Restricted Resource
It is a 'one stop shop' to help students formulate research questions, collection research, take notes and create citations.

Databases

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Provides access to thousands of high-quality encyclopedia articles in addition to images, video and audio collections. Some full-text magazine/journal articles from EBSCO are also available.
note: Click here for login credentials
EBSCO - MAS Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 540 popular, high school magazines. MAS Complete also provides more than 440 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Encyclopedias

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An authoritative online encyclopedia of philosophy with comprehensive articles.

Podcasts

Radiolab Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"Radiolab is a show about curiosity. Where sound illuminates ideas, and the boundaries blur between science, philosophy, and human experience."
Accessing Community Resources
Berlin Public Libraries (VÖBB)
Notice: You can now register online for a library card  and instantly access online resource. Simply click on Mein Konto --> Nicht Registriert.

Students and faculty can obtain a library card free of charge by submitting an application form and the documents below to any public library branch in Berlin.
  • Proof of Residence in Germany (Anmeldebescheinigung)
  • Identity card or passport
  • Student Card (Schülerausweis)
  • Signature (on the form) of the parent or legal guardian (for children and adolescents under 18)
 
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
Residents of Germany have access to around 150 academic databases through the German Research Foundation (DFG). The aim is to enable scientists, students and scientifically interested individuals access to databases, digital text collections, electronic journals and e-books. These databases are made available through the universities below, but individuals can also register to access them from home. To register, users must select the databases they would like access to and create an account on the DFG's website. Upon registration the DFG will send the login credentials to the user's home address. Usually this takes a day or two.

Still having trouble?

Click here for a visual walk-through.
 
Freie Universität
Users officially registered in Berlin or in Brandenburg can obtain user cards at no charge on presentation of identification (Personalausweis; or passport in combination with official proof of residence (Meldebescheinigung)). Adolescents (age 16 through 17) must submit a special form for requesting a user card; this form has to be signed by a parent or legal guardian. More information can be found on their website.
 
Humboldt Universität
Any resident of the Germany who is at least 16 years of age may register to use the libraries of Humboldt University free of charge. You must submit your ID card or your passport with official proof of residency (Anmeldungbescheinigung) at one of their service desks (for instance at the Grimm Zentrum near Friedrichstr. Bhf). In a few minutes, you will be issued with a user ID that is valid for one year. For more information see their FAQ section (German only). If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must provide your parents' consent along with your passport and proof of residency. Please print the following form and take it with you when you register: Parental Consent Form (PDF). When you register you will be able to borrow books and access hundreds of online databases from computers located in any of Humboldt University's libraries.
 
Technische Universität Berlin
Secondary students can register to use the libraries of the TU at the central library (Zentralbibliothek) for 5.00 EUR/year. Required documents include passport, proof of residency (Meldebescheinigung) and student card (Schülerausweis). In addition, students under 18 will need to submit a form signed by their legal guardian. Upon registration students can borrow books and take advantage of electronic resources. Click here for more information.
 
Universität der Künste Berlin
A Technische Universität Berlin library card (see above) is valid at the libraries of the UdK Berlin.