Highlights from the Library's Collection
  
All Items by Source

Community Resources

Brockhaus Encyclopedia Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The digital BROCKHAUS offers access to art and culture, spelling, synonyms, children’s and youth lexica and much more.
note: German Language Resource
VÖBB Resource: Requires valid Öffentlichen Bibliotheken Berlins library card (Access Instructions)
Lynda Video Tutorials Resource contains video
Learn from Professionals - lynda.com continues the proven offerings of Video2Brain. The focus of the offer is on IT, business and creative topics.
note: VÖBB Resource: Requires valid Öffentlichen Bibliotheken Berlins library card (Access Instructions)

Games

Factitious
A game that tests your ability to spot fake news.
Universal Paperclips
A game in which you play an AI who makes paperclips.
 
 

Journals/Magazines

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Online Resources

Codecademy
Codecademy provides interactive tutorials in many coding languages as well as frameworks.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature using Google's familiar interface. You can find articles, books, and content from academic publishers, professional societies, some academic web sites, and more. For more information see: Strengths and Weaknesses of Google Scholar.
note: Google Scholar is primarily an index. For full-text versions of the books and articles returned by Google Scholar, you will need to take advantage of the university libraries listed to the right under 'Accessing Community Resources'.
NoodleTools Restricted Resource
It is a 'one stop shop' to help students formulate research questions, collection research, take notes and create citations.
Online REPL, Compiler & IDE
'Powerful and simple online compiler, IDE, interpreter, and REPL. Code, compile, and run code in 30+ programming languages.'
Teachable Machine
'Teach a machine using your camera, live in the browser. No coding required.'
Tipp10 - Typing Lessons
Tipp10 is the official tool used for learning how to type at BCS. It provides interactive typing lessons for all ages and offers teachers the ability to monitor progress and assign custom lessons based on current curriculum topics.
note: Ask your teacher or Mr. McIlwain for username and password.

Databases

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Provides access to thousands of high-quality encyclopedia articles in addition to images, video and audio collections. Some full-text magazine/journal articles from EBSCO are also available.
note: Click here for login credentials
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files