Highlights from the Library's Collection
All Items by Source

eBooks

EBSCO eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's eBook Collection contains full text books, such as reference works, scientific monographs, literature and fiction. This eBook Collection contains more than 3,460 titles that are freely accessible and a small number of purchased titles.
EBSCO Reference eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for high school students. Topics include biography, history, careers, language arts, literature, government, health, math, science, current events, and social-emotional health.

Community Resources

Brill Journal Archive Online Restricted Resource
The archive data of 150 titles from the Brill Academic Publishers program are offered. The main focus is on the humanities and social sciences, international law and selected areas from the natural sciences. In the humanities, special emphasis is placed on the areas of Classical Studies, theology and the history of religion, as well as the culture and history of the Middle East.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Brockhaus Encyclopedia Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The digital BROCKHAUS offers access to art and culture, spelling, synonyms, children’s and youth lexica and much more.
note: German Language Resource
VÖBB Resource: Requires valid Öffentlichen Bibliotheken Berlins library card (Access Instructions)
Cambridge Core / Journals Restricted Resource
Cambridge University Press (CUP) publishes a wide range of renowned academic journals with a high degree of circulation.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) Restricted Resource
The world's largest database and most comprehensive source on theoretical and practical issues in international relations. Research results on topics in international political science, diplomacy, geography and international law and economics have been published since 1997.
The database consists of more than 450,000 pages of full texts and contains case studies, interviews, conference reports, position papers and maps, publications by NGOs as well as selected articles and book chapters from over 250 information providers. It is updated quarterly and added around 45,000 pages per year.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
De Gruyter E-Journals Restricted Resource
The package contains refereed journals primarily from economics, but also from politics and law, and individual STM journals. The offer includes the current and retrospective content of the title in full text.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive Restricted Resource
The database of the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) provides monthly updated country reports from all countries in the world. The country reports include information on current and expected future economic and political developments, on foreign trade and an overview of the most important economic indicators. The archive includes all country reports since 1996 and is expanded annually with newer content as part of a moving wall. The four most recent years are not available.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Emerald eJournals Premier Collection Archive Restricted Resource
Emerald eJournals Premier Collection Archive lists full-text articles from over 400 specialist journals from the start of publication up to and including 2018. The offer is supplemented by case studies, interviews and reviews. The majority of the journals come from the field of economics, but library and engineering sciences are also represented.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Oxford Journals Collection Restricted Resource
The Oxford Journals Collection is part of Oxford University Press, the world's largest university publisher, and includes titles from the following sub-areas: Humanities, Science, Medicine, Law, Social Sciences.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Sage Journals Online Restricted Resource
There are over 850 electronic journals from Sage Publications that cover a wide range of subjects including: archeology, geosciences, history, media and communication studies, medicine, education, philosophy, political science, psychology, law, linguistics and literary studies, sociology, technology and computer science, theology and religious studies, and economics.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Statista Restricted Resource
Statista gives users direct access to verifiable and relevant statistics on markets, consumers and social issues: over a million statistics, studies and reports from more than 18,000 sources.
note: German Language Resource
VÖBB Resource: Requires valid Öffentlichen Bibliotheken Berlins library card (Access Instructions)
World Bank E-Library Archives Restricted Resource
The World Bank E-Library Archive contains all World Bank publications up to and including 2020. It provides access to the complete collection of the World Bank's official publications and journals since the 1990s as well as to reports, working papers and top data from the World Bank's world development indicators. Subjects: Economics, Sociology, Political Science
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
World Biographical Information System / WBIS Restricted Resource
The World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS Online) comprises several million short biographies from numerous reference works that appeared from the 16th to the beginning of the 21st century. The biographical archives contained in each take into account different language and cultural areas.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)

Journals/Magazines

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The Economist Magazine Restricted Resource
The Economist is an English-language news and international affairs publication. Print copies are available in the BCS Library and online access is available.
note: Click here for login credentials, then click 'Log in' on the Economist website.


 
The Economist: Historical Archive 1843 - 2007 Restricted Resource
The Economist Historical Archive contains the complete contents of all print editions of the “Economist” from the years 1843 - 2007. The “Economist” is the most important international weekly magazine for economic and financial policy. The articles are offered as color images. The archive is equipped with a full text search with various indices. It enables the export of the “Economic / Financial Indicator” as Excel spreadsheets and has a gallery of cover pictures with key topics highlighted for each week.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)

Newspapers

Berliner Zeitung
1994-present
note: German Language Resource
Der Tagesspiegel
1996-present
note: German Language Resource
Historical Newspapers Online Restricted Resource
The range includes 8 newspapers:
  • The Guardian (1821-1900)
  • The Observer (1791-1900)
  • The New York Times (1851-1922)
  • Boston Globe (1872-1922)
  • The Wall Street Journal (1889-1922)
  • Washington Post (1877-1922)
  • Chicago Tribune (1849-1922)
  • Los Angeles Times (1881-1922)

note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Le Monde diplomatique (English Edition)
Le Monde diplomatique is a monthly newspaper offering analysis and opinion on politics, culture, and current affairs.
note: 1996-present
Le Monde diplomatique (German Edition)
Le Monde diplomatique is a monthly newspaper offering analysis and opinion on politics, culture, and current affairs.
note: 1995-present
German Language Resource
Morgenpost
2002-present
note: German Language Resource
The Day Restricted Resource
The Day is a current affairs website designed for Upper-Primary and Secondary Students.
The Times Digital Archive Restricted Resource
As a “newspaper that documents everything”, the Times from London has offered authoritative, award-winning reporting, information on parliamentary debates, critical interpretation of facts and a unique historical insight into the perspectives of important reporters and editions of the respective era since 1785.
The Times Digital Archive is an unrivaled opportunity to research the content of the best-known and most frequently cited daily newspaper - online and in the context of the original edition.
Thanks to the full-text search and subject classification of each individual article, users can search each issue for keywords in the title or article text, author and subject categories. Following this, the full text of the article or the entire page on which a searched article appears can be viewed quickly and easily on the screen. In addition, it is possible to look at a specific issue of the newspaper from a specific day and "leaf through".
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)

Online Resources

IB Economics Revision
IB Economist offers students taking IB Economics at Higher and Standard levels to review and revise topics from the IB Economics course.
Khan Academy Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Our math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps.
NoodleTools Restricted Resource
It is a 'one stop shop' to help students formulate research questions, collection research, take notes and create citations.
World Bank Open Data
Open access to global development data, statistics and economic indicators.

Databases

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Provides access to thousands of high-quality encyclopedia articles in addition to images, video and audio collections. Some full-text magazine/journal articles from EBSCO are also available.
note: Click here for login credentials
EBSCO - MAS Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 540 popular, high school magazines. MAS Complete also provides more than 440 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Global Issues in Context
Contains international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues.
note: If you're prompted to enter a password. The password for is "open".

News Organizations

Podcasts

Planet Money
Highly recommended podcast that makes sense of complicated concepts.

Statistics/Data

Berlin in figures (ZLB)
Statistical reports of Berlin since 2007.
Berlin Open Data
You will find all 1755 datasets currently listed here. The data sets are arranged in 22 categories.
Berlin Statistics (ZLB)
Official statistics of Berlin since 1852.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) - International Data
The Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis is responsible for advising the Bank president on matters of economic policy. The Division monitors the economic and financial literature and produces research in the areas of money and banking, macroeconomics, and international and regional economics.
International Monetary Fund eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund eLibrary provides access to IMF publications, including journals, books, working papers, studies and statistical publications from the IMF. Statistical data sets are made available via the IMF Data product contained in the eLibrary.
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Accessing Community Resources
Berlin Public Libraries (VÖBB)
Notice: You can now register online for a library card  and instantly access online resource. Simply click on Mein Konto --> Nicht Registriert.

Students and faculty can obtain a library card free of charge by submitting an application form and the documents below to any public library branch in Berlin.
  • Proof of Residence in Germany (Anmeldebescheinigung)
  • Identity card or passport
  • Student Card (Schülerausweis)
  • Signature (on the form) of the parent or legal guardian (for children and adolescents under 18)
 
Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
Residents of Germany have access to around 150 academic databases through the German Research Foundation (DFG). The aim is to enable scientists, students and scientifically interested individuals access to databases, digital text collections, electronic journals and e-books. These databases are made available through the universities below, but individuals can also register to access them from home. To register, users must select the databases they would like access to and create an account on the DFG's website. Upon registration the DFG will send the login credentials to the user's home address. Usually this takes a day or two.

Still having trouble?

Click here for a visual walk-through.
 
Freie Universität
Users officially registered in Berlin or in Brandenburg can obtain user cards at no charge on presentation of identification (Personalausweis; or passport in combination with official proof of residence (Meldebescheinigung)). Adolescents (age 16 through 17) must submit a special form for requesting a user card; this form has to be signed by a parent or legal guardian. More information can be found on their website.
 
Humboldt Universität
Any resident of the Germany who is at least 16 years of age may register to use the libraries of Humboldt University free of charge. You must submit your ID card or your passport with official proof of residency (Anmeldungbescheinigung) at one of their service desks (for instance at the Grimm Zentrum near Friedrichstr. Bhf). In a few minutes, you will be issued with a user ID that is valid for one year. For more information see their FAQ section (German only). If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must provide your parents' consent along with your passport and proof of residency. Please print the following form and take it with you when you register: Parental Consent Form (PDF). When you register you will be able to borrow books and access hundreds of online databases from computers located in any of Humboldt University's libraries.
 
Technische Universität Berlin
Secondary students can register to use the libraries of the TU at the central library (Zentralbibliothek) for 5.00 EUR/year. Required documents include passport, proof of residency (Meldebescheinigung) and student card (Schülerausweis). In addition, students under 18 will need to submit a form signed by their legal guardian. Upon registration students can borrow books and take advantage of electronic resources. Click here for more information.
 
Universität der Künste Berlin
A Technische Universität Berlin library card (see above) is valid at the libraries of the UdK Berlin.