Highlights from the Library's Collection
 
All Items by Source

eBooks

EBSCO eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
EBSCO's eBook Collection contains full text books, such as reference works, scientific monographs, literature and fiction. This eBook Collection contains more than 3,460 titles that are freely accessible and a small number of purchased titles.
EBSCO Reference eBook Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for high school students. Topics include biography, history, careers, language arts, literature, government, health, math, science, current events, and social-emotional health.

Academic Search Engines

Public Library of Science (PLOS)
Includes 215,000+ peer-reviewed articles are free to access, reuse and redistribute. PLOS was founded as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to advance progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

Videos

AsapSCIENCE
A YouTube channel created by Canadian YouTubers Mitchell Moffit and Gregory Brown. The channel produces weekly videos that touch on many different topics of science.
It's Okay to be Smart
It's Okay to be Smart from PBS is all about science, the amazing universe we live in, and the pleasure of finding things out.
Stated Clearly
Stated Clearly presents short, succinct videos on genetics and evolution.
TEDEd Life Sciences
TEDEd Life Sciences offers short video lessons, questions, and discussion forums on hundreds of intriguing questions.

Community Resources

Brill Journal Archive Online Restricted Resource
The archive data of 150 titles from the Brill Academic Publishers program are offered. The main focus is on the humanities and social sciences, international law and selected areas from the natural sciences. In the humanities, special emphasis is placed on the areas of Classical Studies, theology and the history of religion, as well as the culture and history of the Middle East.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Cambridge Core / Journals Restricted Resource
Cambridge University Press (CUP) publishes a wide range of renowned academic journals with a high degree of circulation.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
De Gruyter E-Journals Restricted Resource
The package contains refereed journals primarily from economics, but also from politics and law, and individual STM journals. The offer includes the current and retrospective content of the title in full text.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Oxford Journals Collection Restricted Resource
The Oxford Journals Collection is part of Oxford University Press, the world's largest university publisher, and includes titles from the following sub-areas: Humanities, Science, Medicine, Law, Social Sciences.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
Science Classic Archive 1880-1996 Restricted Resource
Science journal archive from 1880-1996. Next to "Nature", "Science" is the outstanding interdisciplinary publication organ of the STM area.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)
World Biographical Information System / WBIS Restricted Resource
The World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS Online) comprises several million short biographies from numerous reference works that appeared from the 16th to the beginning of the 21st century. The biographical archives contained in each take into account different language and cultural areas.
note: Requires valid DFG Login (Access Instructions)

Software

Jmol
Jmol is a free, open source molecule viewer for students, educators, and researchers in chemistry, biochemistry, physics, and materials science.

Newspapers

The Day Restricted Resource
The Day is a current affairs website designed for Upper-Primary and Secondary Students.

Online Resources

Bioknowledgy
Bioknowledgy offers students taking IB Biology at Higher and Standard levels to review and revise topics from the IB Biology course.
Bioninja
BioNinja offers students taking IB Biology at Higher and Standard levels to review and revise topics from the IB Biology course.
Khan Academy Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more. Our math missions guide learners from kindergarten to calculus using state-of-the-art, adaptive technology that identifies strengths and learning gaps.
Learn.Genetics
An interactive resource for learning and research on a variety of topics in genetics, human health, cell biology, neuroscience, and ecology.
NoodleTools Restricted Resource
It is a 'one stop shop' to help students formulate research questions, collection research, take notes and create citations.

Databases

Britannica Online Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Provides access to thousands of high-quality encyclopedia articles in addition to images, video and audio collections. Some full-text magazine/journal articles from EBSCO are also available.
note: Click here for login credentials
EBSCO - MAS Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 540 popular, high school magazines. MAS Complete also provides more than 440 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
GenBankis
GenBankis the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
Global Invasive Species Database
The Global Invasive Species Database is a free, online searchable source of information about alien and invasive species that negatively impact biodiversity.

Podcasts

Radiolab Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
"Radiolab is a show about curiosity. Where sound illuminates ideas, and the boundaries blur between science, philosophy, and human experience."
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files